Yoga In the Woods

So, I recently took this big trip with famous landscape photographer Monte Nagler. It was one of his photo workshops where he takes a small group fo photographers out on location for a week to do basically nothing but photography all day. It was a wonderful trip, that I could write on for a very long time, and will do in another blog. The point of this blog is that the experience on that trip of working alongside other photographers, bouncing ideas off of them, seeing how they shoot, how their images differ from mine, and just the companionship fo having someone else out with me doing the same thing I like to do, was very good, to put it simply. I want to continue to work with other people who want to go out and photograph for the love of it. Usually when I am photographing with other people it is for work, and that is a whole other experience. I just want to enjoy, grow, and learn from other artistic people.

So, I decided to give it a try to contact a woman who I am friends with on my facebook who was in art class with me way back in high school. From her posts on facebook I could clearly see hat she was an artist, and did a lot of photography herself. So I thought she might be up for meeting up and taking photos together, even though it had been probably 12 or so years since we had seen each other last. I thought it was worth a shot, at the worst she would just say no thanks, and I would have been fine with that. So I sent her a message, and surprise! She agreed that it sounded like fun! serendipitously (is that a word?) my friend Stephanie who lives in Chicago called and said she wanted to some home to Michigan on the very day I was set to meet my friend to take photos. So I offered her a proposal, I will pick you up from the train if you come along to our little photo shoot and be our model. See, Stephanie is a yoga teacher, and I thought that it would be cool if we could get her to do some yoga poses for us to photograph. I liked this idea because yoga is similar to dance, and I enjoy photographing dancers, and I am not yet totally comfortable with photographing straight portraits of people yet. It is a goal of mine to improve my portraiture skills.

Wonderfully, the weather on the day we chose was warm and sunny, and after a delayed Amtrak train (no surprise there), and one lane only traffic on M-14 (a surprise to me, however), we met up at the Arboretum in Ann Arbor. Here are some of the shots from that day. I have very happy with how they turned out, and I had a great time with my old classmate Nancy, and my Chicago friend Stephanie.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About amylockardphotos

Photojournalist, videographer, and fine art photographer.

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the pics! Funny how we were photographing the same places and person and yet our styles our different. 🙂 We should definitely do this again sometime!

Leave a Reply

