Eagle Sighting

I had the lucky chance to venture back up to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula this past weekend. I stayed out on Brevoort Lake just outside of St. Ignace, Michigan. I was told there was a pair of bald eagles that live on the lake and can often be seen fishing in the bay near where I was staying, but two days in to my three-day trip, I hadn’t yet seen them. About mid day on Sunday morning, my mother turned to me and asked if that was a Canadian goose she saw flying by the bay, nope, it was the bald eagle! I ran to grab my zoom lens, and caught a few shots as it landed atop a pine tree. about the minutes later it took off and flew across the lake. Its wings were so large that you could see its silhouette quite well until it was just about all the way across the lake. I only had a 70-200mm zoom with me, so when I enlarged the images they got a bit pixellated, but I am still happy I got a few shots of the eagle that day!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About amylockardphotos

Photojournalist, videographer, and fine art photographer.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Michigan Upper Peninsula and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

