Pictured Rocks

This is a sampling of some of the photos that I took last October in Munising while on the Pictured Rocks Cruise. It was early in the morning when we went on the cruise, something that I do not recommend, as much of the trip the rock face was backlit and very hard to see and photograph. Hopefully I will one day return, and take an afternoon or sunset cruise. I did get a few good shots, some of which I have ordered as canvas prints. I think that the abstract quality of the close up images of the coloring on the rocks looks like paint, and I imagined that canvas would be the best medium to convey this. I was also struck by the fact that to me some of the markings looked like prehistoric cave paintings, while they were simply natural occurences. I think I can see the image of people in some of these markings, can you?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About amylockardphotos

Photojournalist, videographer, and fine art photographer.

Posted on October 12, 2012, in Michigan Upper Peninsula, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

