ESP

In honor and anticipation of Halloween, which is my favorite holiday, this blog post features photos from the creepiest place I have ever been, Eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia, PA. I was there in a weekend trip in August of 2010. Having a fascination with some of the scarier and odder historical attractions, my travel friend and I decided to take the tour. The first indication that this was going to be a different kind of vibe on this tour was that it was narrated by the actor Steve Buscemi. It was a blazing hot in Philly that day, but it was somewhat a cool and eerily humid in the halls of the building. They had left most of it in its run down state, with paint peeling off the walls. At one point where you could walk into one of the original cells, and out into its tiny “yard,” I looked up at the sky and for a moment and felt as though I could really imagine what an inmate must have felt in those walls, and it scared me down in my gut. The tour was a fascinating mix of American history, and architecture,  and All the while I had this heavy feeling the air and the walls were weighted down with ghosts and emotions. What scared me even more than the long corridors, strange mirrors, ruined cells, and peeling paint, was when they said that in the Fall there is a haunted house held IN THE PENITENTIARY! Oh man, that place was scary enough in the middle of an August day, I cannot imagine what a haunted house would do to my mind. I thought I had more photos, but I haven’t organized them that well, and I am sure I am missing a few that are on an incorrectly labeled DVD somewhere. But here are a few, and I  hope you can get a sense of the creepiness of this place. It also reminds me of the last two episodes of The Walking Dead that have played this month on AMC. Minus the zombies and all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About amylockardphotos

Photojournalist, videographer, and fine art photographer.

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

