Detroit’s Movement a Decade Later

One of my goals for this blog was to get my photos out of storage and into view. Since this past Memorial weekend was the annual occurrence of the Detroit Electronic Music Festival, now known as Movement, I thought I would post some of my photos. I had been attending the Electronic music festival in Detroit’s Hart Plaza ever since the very first day back in 2000. I have seen it change from a free event to paid, and through names changes and sponsorship changes. These photos are from 2004, when I was still shooting film. I was experimenting a lot with prism and star burst filters. I remember this was the first time I had really focused on taking photos at the festival instead of just hanging with friends and dancing. I remember running out of film and calling friends to bring me more! I was shooting with a Minolta Maxxum 5. I believe this might have been the last year that the festival was free of admission fees, therefore the crowd that gathered was very diverse, and the people watching was intense. Kids mixed with bums, mixed with people from all over the country and world. A special moment in Detroit history.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Detroit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looks like a good time! 🙂

  2. Very fun to watch and read Amy.

Leave a Reply

