The Last Day of Summer

Today I completed a three day art road trip across Mid-Michigan. Yesterday I installed my Art Prize entry in Grand Rapids at Zoup! in the Medical Mile. Then I attended the Art Prize Artist’s Party for the opening of the show where I picked up my badge and credentials.
This morning I drove to Midland to pick up two of my photos that had been exhibited in the 53rd Annual Greater Michigan Art Exhibition at the Alden B. Dow Museum of Science & Art.
Dow Gardens is right next to the Museum, so I walked over with my camera and spent the afternoon with the tress and the bees and the hummingbirds. The air was still sweet with the scent of the flowers, and it was cool and breezy. A perfect end of summer day. What a treasure the Dow Gardens are, and the admission fee is only $5.If you haven’t ever been, you must go.

Today I was exploring textures with my camera.The bright sunlight helped highlight the texture in the plants on the grounds, and in the green house. The birds were also loving the warm sun. I caught a few hummingbirds with my lens. I have photographed Dow Gardens about three times now in the last year or so, and it never gets old. I love how it changes with the seasons.

About amylockardphotos

Photojournalist, videographer, and fine art photographer.

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Exhibits, Michigan, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

